Skip to content
Menu

Clio Grow vs Lawmatics

A firm at the end of this shortlist is asking two questions: what will this cost, and where does the matter end up once intake is finished. Neither vendor's published material answers the first. Both answer the second, and they answer it differently. That difference, rather than any feature list, is what this page is about.

20 claim records·8 sections·every figure attributed to a dated capture·no first-party testing

What follows is built from each vendor's own pages, captured on dated snapshots, plus one practitioner discussion. It contains no independent test of either product, because none exists in this research. Where a vendor states a capability, the sentence says which vendor stated it and when it was captured. That is the whole method, and the closing section says plainly where it runs out.

The first question: what does an intake-capable configuration cost?

Neither vendor publishes the answer. They withhold it in different ways, and the difference is worth understanding because it changes what you have to do to get a number.

Clio publishes a floor, and the floor is not the intake price. Clio states that its plans start at 49 US dollars per user per month and that there are four plans to choose from, named Starter, Core, Signature and Elite. On the same pricing page, Clio states that Clio Grow, its client intake and CRM product, is included in the Elite and Elite Work plans and is available as a paid add-on for the Core and Signature plans. The add-on price is not published anywhere on that page. So the 49 dollars is real, and it is the price of a plan that does not include the intake product. All three statements were captured 2026-08-16, and each was found again word for word in a fresh capture of the same page taken on 2026-08-19.

There is a smaller oddity in those two sentences worth naming, because a buyer reading the page will hit it. The plan count and the plan names come from Clio's own FAQ, which lists four. The Grow packaging line names the plans that include Grow as Elite and Elite Work. Elite Work is not one of the four the FAQ lists, and it is not one of the four columns in the plan comparison table on the same page. This page does not know what Elite Work is or what it costs, and neither does the pricing page.

Lawmatics publishes no figure at all. Lawmatics states that it offers tailor-made pricing plans for law firms of all sizes and asks the visitor to supply information for a custom quote. No plan on that page carries a price. Captured 2026-08-16, and the same page was captured again on 2026-08-19 with an identical content hash, so nothing on it had changed. The same claim records that the page also references credit-based pricing for an AI lead-routing capability, so an eventual quote may combine a subscription with a usage component; neither is quantified on the page.

Where intake sits in each plan structure is also different, and it is not an inversion. Both products gate intake. They gate it differently, and describing them as opposites would be wrong in a way that matters to a buyer.

Lawmatics lists client intake, lead management, custom forms and e-signature in the included list of Essential, the lowest of its three named plans. Intake is not withheld from the entry plan. It is metered there: that plan caps automations at 10 against unlimited above it, contacts at 500 against 10,000, conflict checking at Basic against Advanced, and e-signatures at 50. Both captured 2026-08-19.

Clio's arrangement is the availability kind rather than the metered kind: Grow is included in two named plans and sold as a separately priced add-on for two others. A firm on Core or Signature does not get a smaller version of intake. It gets none until it buys the add-on, at a price the page does not state.

One further caution on the Lawmatics side, and it is the vendor's own footnote rather than our reading. On the plan cards both contact figures carry a numbered footnote marker, and the page defines three numbered footnotes beneath them; the marker on the contact figures is the first, which reads that additional contacts are sold separately. The entry plan's included list opens with the words "Everything in Basic", naming a fourth tier that the page does not show and for which nothing is captured here.

What each vendor publishes about the price of an intake-capable configuration, and what it leaves unpublished. Every cell traces to the claim cited inside it. Clio figures captured 2026-08-16 and re-verified 2026-08-19. The Lawmatics pricing statement was captured 2026-08-16 and the two plan-structure statements 2026-08-19, from captures of the same page carrying an identical content hash.
Question a buyer asksClioLawmatics
Is there a published starting price?Yes. 49 US dollars per user per month across four named plans No. No plan on the pricing page carries a figure
Does the entry plan include intake?Grow is included in Elite and Elite Work and sold as an add-on for Core and Signature Yes, in the entry plan's own included list, alongside lead management, custom forms and e-signature
How is the entry tier limited?By availability of the intake product rather than by a metered allowance By metered allowances: 10 automations against unlimited, 500 contacts against 10,000, Basic against Advanced conflict checking, and 50 e-signatures
Can you price intake from the page?No. The add-on price for Core and Signature is not published No. Pricing is quoted after a qualification step

The bottom row is the finding. Two products, two different packaging philosophies, and the same outcome for a buyer trying to build a budget: you cannot get the number from either page. What differs is the work required to get it. On the Clio side you need one figure, the Grow add-on price, and you already know the plan price it sits on top of. On the Lawmatics side you need the whole quote, and the page tells you a qualification step comes first.

This page computes nothing from those numbers. There is no ratio between the two products' tiers here and there will not be one: the tiers are not comparable units, one product publishes no price to put in a denominator, and a derived figure spanning them would carry authority it has not earned.

What each plan table can and cannot be read for

The Lawmatics table is readable. The collector capture contains the same Compare Plans table twice. In the first rendering the non-text cells drop out and the surviving values lose their columns, which is the rendering this project read and drew its conclusions from. In the second, every cell is present in column order across the three plans shown, and the tick and dash cells survive as distinguishable image addresses rather than vanishing. The four metered measures quoted above were re-read directly from that second rendering before this page was published, and each carries one value per plan: automations 10, Unlimited, Unlimited; contacts 500, 10,000, 10,000; conflict checking Basic, Advanced, Advanced; e-signatures 50 followed by two tick cells.

What this page still does not do is transcribe the rest of that table. Those cells have not been compiled into claims in this research, and a figure without a claim does not ship here. That is a limit of the work done, not a limit of the capture, and it is a smaller and more honest statement than the one this page made before.

The Clio table is readable too, except in one block. Eighty of its rows carry a label and one value for each of the four plans, and can be read straight off. The reading breaks only in the Add-ons block at the end, where twelve rows carry a single value and the online client intake forms row carries three: No, "Contact your sales representative for pricing." and Included, against a header that names four plans.

Three values against four plan columns means one column has no value of its own, and the capture does not say which. Our research records that row as listing intake forms unavailable on the entry plan, requiring a sales conversation on the middle plans, and included on the highest. That reading is the only one consistent with the unambiguous prose above the table, and it is a reconciliation rather than a direct reading. The packaging statement is what carries the weight here, not the row.

How this reading was corrected, and what was wrong before

Both vendors publish a feature comparison table, and both were captured. An earlier version of this page said neither could be read cell by cell. That was wrong about both of them, in different ways, and the correction is on the page rather than in a commit message because it is the same mistake this project keeps making: reading its own notes about a capture instead of the capture.

One consequence has to be stated plainly. An operator-supplied photograph of the same table was collected to resolve the columns, and this project recorded it as the only reason those four figures were safe to publish. It was not: the hashed collector capture resolves them on its own. The two also disagree on one row. The operator transcription records the two-way SMS allowance as the same value on both upper plans; the collector's full rendering shows a dash and two different values. Where a hand transcription and a hashed capture disagree, this page follows the hashed capture, and it publishes no two-way SMS figure at all.

The second question: where does the matter go?

This is where the two products actually diverge, and it is the half of the decision that a feature comparison tends to miss.

Lawmatics states that matter data syncs from Lawmatics, on lead conversion, to nine named case-management products made by other companies: 8am MyCase, CARET Legal, Clio, Filevine, LEAP, PracticePanther, Rocket Matter, SmartAdvocate and Smokeball. Captured 2026-08-19. That count is the set of destinations carrying the same lead-conversion sync sentence on the captured page; the same page names further destinations under different verbs or triggers, and those are deliberately excluded from the nine.

Destinations publish their own half too. Clio's app-directory page for Lawmatics states that once intake is completed in Lawmatics the matter can be synced automatically to Clio Manage, and that on conversion the matter syncs together with custom fields, documents, notes and relationships. Captured 2026-08-19. Clio is the one this research has compiled into a claim, and it is not the only one that does this: MyCase's own integrations page, captured 2026-08-16, describes the same crossing from the receiving end and names the same trigger, a lead converting to a client. An earlier version of this paragraph called Clio's publication unusual. It is not, and that sentence was written from what this project had compiled rather than from what it had captured, which is the exact failure the wiki exists to prevent.

Clio Grow's own documented handoff points inward. Clio states that once client intake is complete, documents, notes, events, intake form details and related contacts transfer into Clio Manage. Captured 2026-08-15. That is a crossing between two products made by the same company.

So the shape of the answer is this. Lawmatics publishes a crossing out to nine case systems made by other companies. Clio Grow publishes a crossing into Clio Manage. If your firm already runs one of those nine case systems and intends to keep it, the two products are not offering the same thing, and the published evidence says which one has documented the crossing you would need.

That is close to what the original poster in the one practitioner discussion we hold actually did, and the difference in wording is worth keeping. The firm ran Clio Manage, chose Lawmatics for intake, and said it would keep Clio Manage, which it twice calls its CRM rather than its case system. The vocabulary in this market does not settle, which is itself part of the problem a buyer faces. One firm, four years ago, is not a pattern. It is one worked instance of the decision this section describes.

Every statement in this section is a vendor describing an integration it is a party to. None of them establishes that a sync works, how completely it maps fields, what it costs, or whether any particular field survives the crossing. A listed integration is a statement of availability. The only way to find out what arrives is to move a real intake with your own fields and compare the resulting matter against the intake record, field by field.

What the one practitioner discussion actually contains

Our practitioner evidence for this comparison is a single discussion thread in a law firm forum, supplied as a browser transcript because the platform refuses the collection tooling used here. The platform displayed its age as four years at capture. It is among the oldest transcripts in this research, though not the oldest: another displays five years. Both products have changed since, and nothing in it describes current packaging or current pricing.

It holds six accounts, and the single most important thing about it is that only one of them had used both products. They are listed below rather than summarised, so that any statement made about the thread can be checked against it.

The six accounts in the captured discussion, what each says they used, and what each contributes. It is set out this way because a count of who preferred what would read as a survey result, and six people in one conversation are not a survey.
AccountUsed whichWhat it contributes
The original poster, shown as deletedRan Clio Manage; chose Lawmatics for intake during the threadThe only account stating a signed-client volume and the price gap it was weighing: fewer than fifteen people, an average of seventeen new clients signed a month, and a five-hundred-dollar difference between the two products. Two other accounts state one figure about themselves, a two-person firm and one to two leads a day, and neither states a signing volume. Also reports being told by a product manager that setup might take up to three months and that a setup fee applies on top of the base cost, and reports irritation at paying separately for intake when a third product presents both capabilities in one application
DingbatdingbatBoth, and the only oneThe only comparative account in the thread. Describes the tradeoff as configurability against time to value: the more customisable product needed substantial internal process work and vendor-led setup, while the other worked without configuration but could not be customised to the same degree. Names the internal cost that no captured vendor page mentions: someone at the firm has to decompose every firm process into manageable steps and communicate them to the vendor. States twice, unprompted, that the experience is several years out of date and predates the acquisition that produced the current product name
StrongLawAZLawmaticsAsks what the other product does, describes their own setup, and states an impression rather than a comparison. No claim is drawn from this account
sportstvandnovaClio, and says so explicitlyOpens by saying they have not used both. Talks about Clio rather than Clio Grow, describing email, invoice and billing handling, which is the case-management product. Not evidence about either product in this comparison, and no claim is drawn from it
Effective_Net_8350Lawmatics, just startedAsks the original poster how it has been going. Contributes a question, not an assessment. No claim is drawn from this account
LordEgotistNot statedThree sentences recommending one product over the other. It gives a reason for liking the other product's integrations and none for the recommendation itself, and states no usage of either. No claim is drawn from this account

Read that table before you read any summary of this thread, including ours. Four of the six accounts contribute no claim to this research at all, and the five claims we do draw come from the other two: the original poster supplies three and Dingbatdingbat supplies two.

The one durable thing in it is the tradeoff Dingbatdingbat names, and it survives the staleness better than any product detail does, because it is about what the buying firm has to supply rather than about what either product shipped in a given year. A configurable automation product costs internal analyst time before it costs subscription money, and nothing on either vendor's captured pages mentions that cost. The original poster's three-month setup expectation and setup fee sit in the same territory, and no Lawmatics pricing page captured in this research mentions a setup fee of any kind. Another vendor's captured pricing page does list a one-time onboarding fee without pricing it, so an implementation charge is not unheard of in this category; it is simply not something Lawmatics publishes.

All five practitioner claims are recorded here as unverified hypotheses at low confidence. The accounts are pseudonymous, their descriptions of their own practices cannot be checked, and a community source can never establish prevalence, a benchmark, causality, or a product capability.

Conflict and duplicate search, described and left there

Both products say something in this territory and the two statements are not the same kind of statement, so they are reported separately and compared on nothing.

Clio states that firm-wide searches across Clio Manage and Clio Grow can find a conflict of interest or duplicate contacts. Captured 2026-08-15. Lawmatics does not describe a capability in the material captured here; what it publishes is a tier boundary, listing conflict checking as Basic on its entry plan and Advanced above it. Captured 2026-08-19. Nothing captured here defines what either word covers.

That is the whole of what the evidence supports. This page does not say which is better, does not say what either capability discharges, and states nothing about who at a firm may perform, approve or delegate any part of this step, or whether any of it may be automated. Those are questions for your own counsel, and no qualified reviewer has read this page.

The rest of what each vendor states about intake

These are the remaining capability statements in our research for these two products. Each is the vendor describing its own product on a dated capture, and none is tested here.

Clio states that intake forms can be shared on a website or sent by email or SMS, with submitted contact and matter information captured in Clio; that reusable intake form templates can be created in several named languages, including English, Spanish, French, German and Portuguese; and that its scheduling and payment products combine to book consultations and accept payment for them online. All three captured 2026-08-15.

Lawmatics states that its law firm software spans client intake through marketing automation, and presents an integration marketplace for legal technology applications. Both captured 2026-08-16. A marketplace listing establishes that a connection is offered and nothing about its depth.

Both products, and thirteen others, are set out with their captured evidence in the intake software directory, which also maps where intake breaks as a workflow rather than as a feature list.

What this page does not establish, and where its evidence falls short

Where this page's evidence stops

This section is longer than it would be if the evidence were stronger, and that is deliberate. Our own blocking evidence gate fails for this comparison. We are publishing anyway, and the honest thing is to say exactly how it fails rather than to describe the research as complete.

The practitioner evidence is one discussion, four years old. Our evidence gate asks for at least three distinct practitioner threads across at least two source domains before a page like this is considered researched. This page has one thread on one domain. Of its six accounts, one had used both products. Everything a practitioner says here predates the current packaging of both products.

The evidence is overwhelmingly the vendors' own. Fifteen of the twenty claims registered to this comparison come from the two vendors' own pages. Our gate sets a maximum of a quarter for that share, on the reasoning that vendor marketing is the easiest thing to scrape and quote and therefore the lane that fills first if nobody checks. Three quarters is far outside it. The gate also asks for at least eight substantive claims from outside the vendor lane and at least four distinct non-vendor source domains; this page has five claims from one domain.

There is no contradiction record and no third-party research here. Our gate accepts either one qualifying contradiction record or three traced third-party research claims across two organisations. This comparison has neither. Nothing published by an independent party about either product has been captured into this research, and the two vendors do not contradict each other on any point above; they simply publish different things.

Nothing here measures either product's effect on anything. No captured source connects either product to a change in a firm's conversion, response time, signed cases, staff time, or cost. Vendor-published results do exist in the captures and none of them is used on this page. One captured pricing page carries seven customer tiles with percentage results across six practice areas, one of which is personal injury and therefore squarely this project's buyer. A separate capture holds the full case study behind one of those tiles, for an intellectual property firm of ten staff. Every one of those figures is published by the vendor about its own customers, with no method stated and nothing independent to check them against, so none is quoted here. An earlier version of this paragraph described that material as a single case study about a buyer this research does not serve, and both halves of that were wrong.

No independent test of either product exists in this research. Nobody here has run an intake through either system. Every capability statement above is the vendor's description of its own product, and the comparison pages that rank for this query are used only to discover sources, never as evidence about what either product does.

Two more gaps our gate names. No pain-point page in this research is built on this comparison's evidence, and the intake-to-engagement workflow map cites only vendor-lane material for the steps these two products touch. Both mean the same thing: the buyer's problem behind this purchase is less researched than the products are.

What the page does establish is narrow and, we think, still worth publishing: what each vendor states, on a dated capture, about price, packaging and the handoff, and where those statements stop. That is checkable, it is not available in this form anywhere in the ranked results, and it is the part a buyer can act on by asking better questions in two demos.

The standards this page is held to are set out in full at methodology. The fifteen-product comparison this page sits under is the intake software directory. Companion research on what firms can measure once a product is chosen is at law firm intake metrics.

Sources

7 sources behind 20 claim records on this page. Each was captured on the date shown and is quoted from that capture.

AI Legal Intake Forms & Client Intake for Law Firms | Clio

Clio·vendor-doc·captured 2026-08-15·commercial interest: high

Supports 5 claims on this page.

View source

Lawmatics vs. Clio Grow

Reddit (r/LawFirm)·community·captured 2026-08-17·commercial interest: low for a community thread

Supports 5 claims on this page.

View source

Clio Legal AI Software Pricing & Plans | Start Free Trial

Clio·vendor-pricing·captured 2026-08-16·commercial interest: high

Supports 3 claims on this page.

View source

Pricing | Lawmatics

Lawmatics·vendor-pricing·captured 2026-08-16·commercial interest: high

Supports 3 claims on this page.

View source

Legal Software Integrations | Lawmatics

Lawmatics·vendor-integrations·captured 2026-08-16·commercial interest: high

Supports 2 claims on this page.

View source

Clio and Lawmatics Integration | Clio

Clio·vendor-integrations·captured 2026-08-19·commercial interest: high

Supports 1 claim on this page.

View source

Lawmatics product pricing and integration profile

Lawmatics·vendor-doc·captured 2026-08-16·commercial interest: high

Supports 1 claim on this page.

View source